Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-09-28 * Black and White and Read... (a joke that only works aloud)

Yesterday my friend Toast'n'Candy gave me a treat in the cutest little shopping bag. Today I decided that I wanted to make myself some cute little shopping bags, so I pulled it apart (it had gotten spotted from the tasty treats inside), traced its shape and fold lines onto a template, and then used that (and a scoring tool) to make a few out of newspaper:

I used a starry hole punch and sisal twine for the handles to match the rustic look of the newspaper. They need a little rectangle of matte board or cardboard to strengthen the bottom, I think.

Do I have anything to put in them? At the moment, no, but I do think they are rather cute and I'm sure I will use them for something eventually. They'd also be fun made out of wrapping paper or bigger brown paper bags, or waxed paper for cookies perhaps. I wish I knew how to make a PDF and host it somewhere, because I'd be glad to share a template with any of you who might like to make your own. I could probably draw a picture with dimensions and e-mail it if anyone does. Comment with your addy if so!

My friend Camilla and I went on a pilgrimage to Satin Moon Fabrics, where I'd never been (I'd tried before, but always on a Monday, when they are closed). It is a tiny shop crammed with loads of lovely fabric. I stood worshipfully in front of their selection of cotton lawn from Liberty, but didn't even ask the price (but omg they had wonderful things I'd never even seen before-- one perfect fall cotton with acorns on it! ah! and another pinky one with tiny little frilly dresses!). But I think I need to stock up the etsy shop and sell some stuff before embarking on more projects!

Any suggestions about stuff that should go in the shop? I'm thinking more simple tote bags in fun fabric, and perhaps some mid-size messenger bags like the Cassandra that I've been carrying around myself. But I'd love advice from the fashionistas reading my blog (you girls know who you are!).

reading: the new Garnet Hill catalog (um, where's my October Real Simple?)
coveting: a yard of every Liberty cotton at Satin Moon

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog