Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-08-27 * Lavender Strawberries and Inspiration

Remember that nonsense about not being inspired? Lately it seems like the universe is trying to tell me that I should be careful what I complain about, since now there are a ridiculous number of possible and exciting projects jostling and elbowing each other in my brain. Feast or famine, I suppose!

And so, I started small. How small, you ask? Inspired by Eireann and of course Martha, I decided to make a little strawberry pincushion, but filled with lavender blooms instead of sand or stuffing.

This was the perfect project for my wee mini sewing machine, the Sew D'Lite (ah!) which works beautifully and cost all of $16 (my mother bought it for me)

No, that isn't an enormous teacup, that is just how small the Sew D'Lite is!

But then I became a lazy crafter and decided to do the "glue on a felt strawberry top" instead of threading my embroidery needle and embroidering the top. Mistake. The glue was messy, the top too large for the berry, and I ended up having to stitch it on around the edges rather sloppily. I still love it, but I will keep it for myself instead of giving it away as I thought I would before the glue and felt incident.

It is sweet and fuzzy and smells divine, so I might just attach it to my keychain to sniff whenever I encounter inescapable fugs (which sadly in San Francisco happens more often than one would wish, mostly on public transport).

At any rate, that, along with the enormous September Vogue, broke my creative block and had me wanting to make oh so many things. Like I definitely need to buy this Burda pattern to make a mini-dress/jumper to wear over my jeans or perhaps with opaque tights (I still refuse to consider leggings, though sadly I admit that they are starting to creep into my consciousness as not entirely repellant). And oh there are about 6 other dress patterns I have written in my little book that I imagine making and wearing for various glamorous and wonderful purposes (and I really want a pretty, pockety smock to wear over my clothes. I don't paint, but I'm convinced it will make me more creative).

But what I've actually gotten started on is re-creating a darling vintage clutch given to me by my friend Kim. It is a very clever design and despite having two pieces (of vintage fabric, naturally) cut out, I am still puzzling over exactly how to put it together so none of the seams will show. There may be cursing and crying before it is done, but so be it.

And so, you know, to reward myself for being inspired (and for finishing up copy edits on the book) I went for a pedicure and chose a bold fallish color

I hear that Chanel is making a velvety black nail polish meant for very short fingernails in the fall, suddenly, much like leggings, black nail polish doesn't seem entirely revolting to me...damn that Vogue mind control!

reading: the September issue of Vogue
coveting: an entirely brand new fall wardrobe and the dewy skin of a 20 year old

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog