Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-07-11 * Blueberries and Memories

I am back in sunny California, which in San Francisco actually means "chilly and rather grim California" in the summertime. And of course chilly weather combined with summer produce (I went a little overboard on my blueberry purchasing) means baking. At least that is what it means to me:

Voila my grandmother's Blueberry Cottage Pudding (a blueberry loaf with a crunch outside and very moist middle). This recipe comes from the only grandmother I actually knew. I loved her for the excellent tea parties she threw, the Canfield's chocolate soda she poured me, and the time she suggested I get a job when I was 9 years old. I think someone else at the senior center had an enterprising grandchild who inspired this. But now that I am older, and she is gone, I've learned so many other wonderful things about her strength of character and loving, generous heart.

She and my grandfather were married for over 50 years, and lived many of them in an absolutely tiny cottage whose walls didn't even reach the ceilings. That is love for you right there (in fact, after they both died we called the house "The Love Shack"). Even so, after my grandfather died she went right out and got her ears pierced (she was in her 80s) and bought a microwave oven, two things which I gather my grandfather frowned upon. I come from lines of very strong and passionate women on both sides, and I am glad that I knew at least one of them personally.

At any rate, every time I make this pudding I think of her and miss her. I wish I had known her longer, and when I was old enough to really talk with her woman to woman. If any of my ancestors are still with me in one way or another, I know she is, and I am grateful.

Whew! Long story. But because of the whole "fitting into the wedding dress" thing in a few weeks, I only ate that one piece you see there, then gave the rest of the loaf to my publisher along with some rewrites. Now the sun appears to be peeking out through the fog and hopefully it will giv me a little bit of solar energy to get going on my multiple-item to-do list!

Also, a big thank you to Laurie who answered my question about what, exactly it was that I had photographed behind my hotel in CT.

reading: Devil on Horseback by Victoria Holt (the edition printed the year I was born!)
coveting: a good, long sleep

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog