Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-08-21 * WIP Monday

Some brilliant blogger (am embarassed not to remember who) started "Work In Progress Mondays". Going along with my amnesia on this brilliant idea, I don't remember whether one is meant to post works in progress or finish a work in progress on Monday and post it. So, I decided that today would be about finishing some of my many and varied works in progress. I have several bags all cut out and ready to be sewn, not to mention other wee crafty enthusiasms I picked up and put down at various critical junctures.

The first one I finished was that surprise I mentioned the other day, so I can't show you yet, but it came out very cute. I can show you this

A huge tote made of vintage curtain fabric. It is very bright and very sturdy, and will make its way up on etsy along with the purses that didn't sell at the craft fair, and perhaps some of the branchy coral earrings. My shop there is entirely empty right now, so my next WIP is measuring, photographing and uploading to fill it up!

Another work in progress is having afternoon tea in a civilized fashion- on nice china, with fruit and a homemade sweet of some kind, so today I made some little French sugar cookies from a recipe in this book

Unfortunately my plans to have a civilized tea were interrupted by a screaming headache that made both caffeine and sugar suddenly unappealing. I did have to try one cookie, though, and they are quite nice. Thankfully they keep for a few days at room temperature in a tin, so perhaps tomorrow will be a more auspicious day for tea!

I have been overall disappointed with Paris Sweets, though- the finished results of her recipes do not live up to the atmosphere she creates with her descriptions of Paris bakeries and treats. There is a lemon cake recipe in the book that has been tempting me since I got it, but it seems expensive to make (there is creme fraiche involved) and I don't want to be disappointed again! So I think when the mood strikes to make lemon cake, I will try Ina Garten's recipe instead.

Cooking on the brain! Oh, and the parmesan chicken from last week turned out yummy. On the menu tonight is chili and skillet corn bread- better get cooking!

reading: The Mirror Crack'd
coveting: some company for tea!

your thoughts? 1 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog