Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2007-02-08 * Lasagna, Cocktails and a Thrift Store Score

I went to my favorite thrift/consignment store to drop off a few bags from the great closet cleanout. And what did I find?

It may not look like much there, but it was a basket full of fabric and zippers, all for $8.50. The zippers are clearly vintage, some of the fabric is funky tiki-style home decor, one piece somewhat '80s Golden Girlsesque, one an historic Charleston, SC reproduction (according to the selvedge) and also about 4 yards of gorgeous blue/green lightweight wool, which I will save to make a dress next fall. Love it. I also stopped in at Goodwill and found a yard of pretty Moda fabric for 99 cents

Moondoggie was out of town on Tuesday so two lovely girls came over for dinner and valentine-making. I served

A made-up cocktail I call a Valentini (though it does not consist of any martini ingredients), concocted thus:
Valentini:
Juice of 6 blood oranges
Juice of 1 pink grapefruit
Juice of 1 lemon
1/4 c sugar syrup
Framboise (either rasperry wine or liqueur, not the flavored beer)
Sparkling Water
Combine first four ingredients in a pitcher and chill. In a wine or champagne glass combine 1/8 cup fruit juice mixture, and 1/8 cup framboise, then fill the remainder of the glass with sparkling water.

It is fruity and yummy and a lovely pink color, as well as not being too alcoholic so not that bad for a weeknight.

The lasagna was Ina Garten's recipe, but sans goat cheese (since I don't like it). Be prepared when you go to the grocery store, because this is basically a $50 lasagna if you don't Trader Joe (or otherwise discount) it. It was very good, though, and since there were only three of us there are tons of leftovers which I can eat for a few days at least.

I would show you the valentines I made, but they are winging their way to people who read this blog so I don't want to spoil any surprises. I hope Camilla posts pictures of hers because they were GORGEOUS--a serious cut above my misshapen hearts and globs of glitter!

I've got some wardrobe refashioning going on, but nothing completed yet to show you! Perhaps tomorrow...

reading: old issues of Cutting Edge, inspiring me to buy new patterns!
coveting: sharp fabric shears! mine are terrible, must send to Ginghers for sharpening

your thoughts? 3 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog