Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-05-20 * Anglophile Afternoon

The theme of today has been very English indeed. The morning dawned foggy (and only now does it seem to be clearing a bit), Moondoggie went off to surf and I settled down with 84 Charing Cross Road. Which was rather melancholy and disappointing, but contained enough things I like (London, old books and Anthony Hopkins) that I watched it all the way through, and was inspired to try a scone mix given to me at my bridal shower (thanks Corinne!)

As you see, these are triangular instead of round, and have an altogether lighter and more pastry-like texture than the ones I make from scratch. They are tasty, but much less like actual English scones.

To go with the scones, I watched the first Inspector Lynley mystery, A Great Deliverance, and finally put together the front of my "trial pillow" to make sure all of my various calculations for piecing came out the right size before cutting into the expensive Liberty fabric for the real thing

Of course my calculations were wrong for the size I intended, but right for a 16" (or 41x41 cm, since it is for people on the metric system) pillow, so that will be fine. The next advenure is figuring out the button-close back of the pillow. I think a certain natural resistance to math makes me a rather haphazard pattern drafter, quilter and knitter, but I shall soldier on.

The theme of the day will move across the Channel, as we are off with a group of friends for a long-awaited dinner at The French Laundry. Oh la la!

reading: The Secret Life of Bees, but I may quit it for something else
coveting: the perfect outfit for tonight.

your thoughts? 3 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog