Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2007-01-04 * Two Down...

As I'm sure many people do, each New Year I resolve to be more organized and tidy. I do progress, in smallish increments every year-- at this rate by the time I am elderly I will be neat as can be. For the moment, I'm grateful for wee victories over entropy (like making the bed more days than not). Anyway, yesterday I pulled everything out of the closet in the studio, looking for a length of fabric I still haven't found. But good did come out of what looked like the closet's unfortunate gastric incident-- I put all of my various projects-in-progress, abandoned at different stages, in one bag. For each new crafty thing I want to try(and oh there are many!), I have to finish at least one w.i.p. I cheated a bit and made the new project first today:

I've had this skirt pattern since last spring, so I thought it was time to give it a try. I used a sheet from the Goodwill instead of muslin for this test run. I really want a skirt that is even more gathered and bells out more from the yoke, but this is lovely and a good start in my understanding of how to construct just what I'm wishing for. It is the best fit of anything I've made from a commercial pattern, and it was extremely easy and quick to whip up. I'm to let it hang overnight before hemming, so the final product will be a bit shorter. I think I'd like one in a fine cotton with a tiny rosy pattern on it, perhaps fully lined instead of just faced at the waist.

And for works in progress? I actually finished two, one of which is a long overdue commission and will be mailed out tomorrow. I also finished this:

I have to admit that I am very tired of making this shape of bag. I have one more cut out in the WIP bag, then I am going to retire the pattern for a good long while. One of my WIPs is to get all of my various finished things up on etsy, where they will hopefully sell and make room in the closet for new inspirations!

I'm seeing Volver this evening with some lovely ladies. It promises, I think, to be pretty intense, but I suspect also a great inspiration for colorful costume (I confess, I sometimes see movies *just* for the outfits).

reading: still Sue Grafton, though I also pour over my copies of Selvedge nightly
coveting: a dress form.

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog