Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2007-02-09 * Tunic Trauma

More apologies to fellow wardrobe re-fashioners for the cross-posting! But a girl can make only so much...

Today's finished object is

It is a tunic/shirt extrapolated from the shirt pattern in Sew U, made of a length of batik from my stash. I can't tell you precisely why, but the more I look at it the less I like it! The pattern is great, fits perfectly, and while fiddly and time-consuming was not terribly complicated to figure out. But the finished product... I just don't know, it doesn't feel like me. My crafty blogging idols typically do not share their "oopsies" but I've been working on this on and off all week and had to show it, and share my frustrations. Hopefully my next clothing project will be a bit happier!

A more positive experience was making Ina Garten's Wheatberry Salad, as part of my attempt to load up on veggies and whole grains. People, while Whole Foods is ridiculously pricey for most things, their bulk grains/flour/sugar are awesome! Wheatberries are only 59 cents a pound! They also took about a million years to soften, as opposed to the 45 minutes promised in the recipe. It is a yummy, filling salad, though I'd skip the carrot, cut down on the white scallon parts, as they are awfully sharp, and add spinach, parsley or some other leafy green to it.

Tomorrow I am running an 8K with Moondoggie-- and by "with" I mean we will start at the same time, he'll cross the finish line fresh as a daisy about 15 minutes later and I will drag in within the next hour or so, cranky and sweaty. So if you think of it, please send me "run and don't fall over/spazz out/hallucinate" wishes. I need them!

reading: March- thanks Jennie!
coveting: the oatmeal wool with pink flowers fabric I saw at Fabrix last week

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog