Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-09-16 * The Theme of the Day: Big!

Yesterday I lost track of time and was still sewing when Moondoggie got home, so I prioritized a sushi date night over blogging. But here I am, bright and early, to tell you all about what I got up to.

There was some super-exciting mail yesterday-- my first Plum from The Plum of the Month Club

A neat antique typewriter key necklace in a nifty plum-painted box with a plum collage card. It was made by Mary Andrews of Contrary, and I am looking forward to adding it to my fall wardrobe!

Also speaking of my fall wardrobe, the dress is done

*photo courtesy of Moondoggie
Eh. I like the green corderoy, but the dress just isn't as cute as I want it to be--it is kind of sack-like and teachery. I think I need to cut the pattern down a size and try it again. Don't get me wrong, I will wear this, but it didn't pass my "cute thing I made" test, which is an affirmative answer to the question "if I tried this on in a shop would I HAVE to have it?" No, I would in fact put it back on the rack unless it was on incredibly super-sale. I don't think the pattern is a total loss, though, so we'll go again! I have some black twill (bought for a skirt I never made) for the next time around, and I think instead of facing it I will trim the neck and armholes with bias tape, and add a fun trim to the hem as well.

Maybe instead of making the dress smaller I should just grow into it?

Big being the theme for yesterday, like the dress, I made these cookies a bit too generous in size. The recipe comes from this book. I do not make my own ice cream, and am pretty sure I will not in the future(but never say never!). However, these cookies are absurdly good-- like fudgy, barely-baked brownies in cookie form. The recipe calls for using a 2 1/4 inch ice cream scoop to scoop out the dough for the right sized cookie. Perhaps people who do make their own ice cream have different, precisely sized ice cream scoops for various jobs. I feel proud of myself for having ONE ice cream scoop in an imprecise and obviously rather too large size. Next time I'll go with a heaping tablespoon of dough for each cookie so they are a bit more manageable. Their largeness made them splurge into each other on the baking sheets and break apart when approached by a spatula, but did not affect their taste. Mmmmm... Please, San Francisco friends, come over and save me from myself by eating a cookie?

reading: between books again
coveting: seriously now, i need an ironing board

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog