Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-09-14 * Pumpkins and Puppies

To continue the cozy fall theme of Anne's Lovely Scarf, I made a big batch of my favorite Pumpkin Soup today.

See the steam? Yummy! I encourage anyone who likes pumpkin and soup to try this-- it is ridiculously easy (all you need is a pot, a whisk, and the ingredients in the recipe) and very tasty and fallish. People are terribly impressed when you serve it to them and it is also quite inexpensive. Oh, and the changes I make to the recipe as written in the link are: change 4c water to 4c chicken broth(or veggie if you are kind to chickens, just something with more flavor than water), change 1 clove garlic to 3 cloves, and change 1/2 t Asian 5-spice powder to 3/4 t. And skip the mushrooms all together, as they are expensive, time-consuming and unnecessary-- just serve with parmesan cheese or a bit of creme fraiche on top. And crusty bread, of course, for a lunch or light dinner.

And the fall dress? Well, it is all cut out-- thanks to some creative folding I managed to make a facing from the leftover corderoy. And the darts are all marked and pinned, but crafty progress for the afternoon was interrupted by this:

Meet Emma! My friends Corinne and Bill's new puppy. Of course when Corinne invited me over to meet Emma I decided the dress could wait! I have never had a dog, but as you know I do enjoy other people's.

So, perhaps the dress will be finished tomorrow-- I'm a bit concerned it will be boring, all one color etc, and thinking it might need some bias-trimmed pockets or something to cheer it up. But I will sew it together and make sure it fits before I get involved in fiddly pocket-making!

reading: Watermelon- has anyone seen the movie About Adam? Maybe the stories just have similar elements, but I'm having deja vu.
coveting: a degree in draping and pattern making

your thoughts? 0 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog