Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-10-20 * Get Dressy

I've had a gift certificate to JoAnn's since last Christmas. My dear friend Lauren gave it to me, and I didn't just want to fritter it away on something random-- I wanted my purchase to be special, and to remind me of her. So, I finally decided exactly what to spend it on and even made a list so I could go straight to what I wanted and not be distracted by the aforementioned random (but oh so appealing) things that call out to me. I was on a mission to buy two patterns I've been wanting for a few months now, and the fabric and notions to make one of them.

And voila!

The dress is from the Very Easy, Very Vogue pattern #7871, which I came across at Angry Chicken who has made it three times in different fabrics, all lovely. I don't know what I'd do if it wasn't for craft bloggers trying out patterns and having good results. I get so overwhelmed by pattern books and have trouble visualising how anything will actually look on me when made with the fabric of my choice. At any rate, the dress above is made of some funky slightly wall-papery patterned corderoy that I just love. It has a sort of 60's, 70's vibe, and as Amy of Angry Chicken mentioned, it truly is VERY easy, and very comfortable.

I also bought the pattern for Alicia's Casserole-Bringing Dress For Fall, but I was too intimidated by the 20 pieces and choosing the right fabric to get anywhere with that one. But it is in the queue!

Because sewing frenzies are always accompanied with baking frenzies Chez Belleepoque, I also made some pull-apart sweet potato biscuits yesterday. I will confess that Moondoggie and I basically just had biscuits for dinner. But they're good for you, right?

And omg, do you know what came in the mail today? My Stitchettes! Eeeeep! They are even tinier and cuter and more wonderful than they look. I've transferred one to some muslin and will be stitching away this weekend at the beach.

reading: ok, this isn't funny, WHERE are my Real Simple and MS Livings?!
coveting: an almond croissant

your thoughts? 3 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog