Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2006-11-18 * C'mon Everyone's Doing it!

And we have bread!

Moondoggie said "it looks like bread you'd find at some expensive place like Dean & Deluca." It is, indeed, gorgeous, and was also totally idiotproof. I found, while browsing around the internet after mixing the dough, that this recipe has become quite a phenomenon with bloggers, a food-meme, if you will. I found out about it at Not Martha, and there is a grand old discussion about it (which was actually very helpful) over here too.

I got the actual Martha's Handmade Holiday Gifts magazine today, and was so overwhelmed by the intricacy and cuteness of the projects that I totally copied Alicia of the ever-inspiring Posie Gets Cozy by just making some simple little fluffy pompoms to chill out.

We haven't tasted the bread yet, as I want to bring it to the dinner we're attending tonight. My father termed it "pretty gutsy" to bring something I've never made before and haven't tried yet to a dinner party. However, given the rave reviews I've read of the bread, I feel confident it will not shame me.

I would link to the recipe except it is now locked behind NYT's password protection, and since it is copyrighted I can't post it here (got to respect intellectual property!). However, since the baker who originally came up with it said that he wanted everyone to know about easy-to-make bread, I'll point you here where she didn't have any compunction about posting the instructions herself. Perhaps a dodgy way to soothe my conscience, but of course I want everyone to try this bread-- seriously, if you can stir and then be patient, you can do it (by the way, Camilla, if you want to borrow my cast iron dutch oven so you can try it, let me know)

reading: yay! my December Real Simple came
coveting: the books Sew U and Handmade Fabric Gifts-- delish!

your thoughts? 0 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog