Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

01/02/07 * Quite a Haul


While in NYC I made my mother come with me to explore the "fashion district" (formerly known as "the garment district"). When I last lived in New York I hadn't taken up sewing yet, so I never bothered to lurk through fabric, ribbon and trim stores. It can be quite overwhelming so I drew us a little plan of attack which included only a few stores in a smallish radius.

I didn't go entirely crazy (I promised myself I'd only buy things I was truly mad for), but it was such fun to see the vast array of bits and bobs and twinkly things on offer.

On a separate craft-motivated trip I took mom to the Cooper Hewitt gift shop, where I'd heard there were back issues of Selvedge magazine, which despite its insane import price I was determined to lay hands on (I'd looked and asked in vain at several ritzy magazine shops and chain bookstores that claim to carry it.) The Cooper Hewitt truly deserves the title of National Design Museum-- we only had time for the gift shop, which is like a design museum in itself. The range of beauty, whimsy and creativity on show there, by designers both young and established, was staggering. And much of it affordable. If you are ever on the look-out for a unique gift for anyone, do check out their website (or go there in person). After the visit my mother decided that she'd like to join the museum and go see all of their exhibitions of new design- hopefully she'll bring me as a guest next time I'm in town!

reading: between books!
coveting: a subscription to Selvedge, naturally

your thoughts? 2 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog