Image hosted by Photobucket.com
Moi
About Me
get in touch
older entries
newest entry

Etsy Button

yay for diaryland!

Say hello!

Archives
September 2006
August 2006
July 2006
June 2006
May 2006
March/April 2006
January/February 2006
November/December 2005
October 2005
September 2005
August 2005
July 2005

www.flickr.com

2007-01-21 * China, flatware and sunny days

After my Thursday craft frenzy, I had a more social Friday- chat and crochet with Toast'n'Candy (who made a super-cute green crocheted flower), then my wee dinner party (five of us all together). Thanks for your input-the crumble was a hit! I would have taken a picture, but in the delicious way of crumble the filling oozed up and burbled over the ramekins, making it yummy but not really photogenic. But here are pictures of the table and place settings- the first outing for my wedding china and flatware!

There was a soup course to justify using the bowls and soup spoons. Choosing a set of china and flatware was really stressful, but after putting it together for real use, I'm very happy with it, and wild about my fancy cut-crystal stemware (aka glasses), which was the only decadent and impractical thing on the registry(everything else was relatively reasonably priced and is dishwasher safe).

Oh I know! So boring- if you'd told me even 10 years ago that I would give a single, solitary hoot about plates and forks I'd have laughed myself breathless. But there you go, and now I need to make a set of green and cream ticking striped placemats (since the commercial ones are either too patterny, too plain, or too expensive to suit).

And the weekend? It was of the weekends when it feels particularly lucky to live in Northern California. It is a beautiful unmarred by fears about global warming-- because of course it is *supposed* to be beautiful here for at least a few days in January:

Perfect sun and tree-shadows, and a meyer lemon just lush with fruit(I want one of those!)and at the beach? Oh my

Don't let that second picture fool you- despite the sun and warm air, the water was very cold indeed.

I feel refreshed and invigorated (i even cleaned out my scary closet when we got home!), so there should be some good crafting happening this week.

reading: the free Cook's Illustrated camilla brought me (thanks!)
coveting: a new small chest of drawers, and a set of squishy aqua blue towels

your thoughts? 7 comments so far

previous - next

Links

Crafting
Getcrafty!
Adorn Magazine
Muse Sewing Workshops
SF Craft Mafia
Craftster

Friends
My Favorite Author
The Big Trip
Paper Tiger Knits
Shelly+Blankets=Awesome Slate Blue
Toast 'n' Candy
von der heyde
West Coast Crafty

Daily Blogs
Loobylu
Wee World
Posie Gets Cozy
Yarnstorm
angry chicken
boy girl party
bara+design
Love Forever
inside a black apple
Coquette
disdressed
sunberst
bits and bobbins
Lemon Tree Tales
Penelope
Theo Design
Pookie&Fig
Wise Craft
Twelve22
Craft Log
Wee Wonderfuls
abby try again
little birds
thimble
not martha
shim and sons
buzzville
simple sparrow
needle book
inspire co.
Bella Dia
Bluepoppy
La Coquette

Shopping
My Etsy Shop
Crafty Planet!
Meg
Studiogems
Tiny Showcase

Hilarity
Miss Doxie
Crazy Aunt Purl
Otter
The Manolo
Pink is the New Blog